Leo Hatten Distinguished Service Award

Leo Hatten, Director of Financial Aid at Eastern New Mexico State University in Portales, New Mexico was active in the SWASFAA Association throughout his professional career and for many years afterward. Leo was longtime editor of the SCAN, the association newsletter, and the "official" photographer for the association. His hundreds and hundreds of photos created a visual history of our association. Because of his many years of untiring and unselfish service to the association the Board voted to honor Leo by naming the Distinguished Service Award after him.

The Leo Hatten Distinguished Service Award is awarded to member representative(s) of SWASFAA who have made outstanding achievements to the financial aid profession and to SWASFAA's goals. Their career must demonstrate service to other professionals, students, and other publics served by our community. It is based on significant contributions over a period of time. It is the highest award bestowed by the association and is presented at the Annual conference. Leo Hatten Distinguished Service Award recipients are selected by the President.

Recipients

	2023	Shannon	Cross	and
--	------	---------	-------	-----

- 2022 D Ingram
- 2021 Janell Valdez
- 2020 n/a
- 2019 Erika Cox
- 2018 Andrew Hammontree
- 2017 Mendy Schmerer
- 2016 Lisa Blazer
- 2014 Tricia Dubroc
- 2013 Cindy Perez
- 2012 David Page
- 2011 Taina Savoit
- 2010 Richard C. "Rick" Renshaw
- 2009 Judith "Judi" Sears
- 2008 Judy Schneider
- 2007 Earl Hudgins
- 2006 Herb Brubaker

- 2005 Gracie Guillory
- 2004 Karen Krause
- 2003 Mary Sue Rix
- 2002 Tom Royal
- 2001 Judy Lassiter
- 2000 Michael Novak
- 1999 Carlia Sproles
- 1998 Sam Howell
- 1997-98 Dorothea Stone
- 1996-97 Judy Schneider & Greeley Myers
- 1995-96 Leo Hatten & David Horn
- 1994-95 Sam Booker & John Whiteside
- 1993-94 Charlie Bruce & Micki Roemer
- 1990-91 Leo Hatten, Sandy Richard & David Horn
- 1987-88 Dave Gardner & Elton Davis
- 1986-87 Kay Vincent