Need Help?


Leo Hatten Distinguished Service Award

Leo Hatten, Director of Financial Aid at Eastern New Mexico State University in Portales, New Mexico was active in the SWASFAA Association throughout his professional career and for many years afterward. Leo was longtime editor of the SCAN, the association newsletter, and the “official” photographer for the association. His hundreds and hundreds of photos created a visual history of our association. Because of his many years of untiring and unselfish service to the association the Board voted to honor Leo by naming the Distinguished Service Award after him.

The Leo Hatten Distinguished Service Award is awarded to member representative(s) of SWASFAA who have made outstanding achievements to the financial aid profession and to SWASFAA’s goals. Their career must demonstrate service to other professionals, students, and other publics served by our community. It is based on significant contributions over a period of time. It is the highest award bestowed by the association and is presented at the Annual conference. Leo Hatten Distinguished Service Award recipients are selected by the President.

2017  Mendy Schmerer
2016  Lisa Blazer
2014  Tricia Dubroc
2013  Cindy Perez
2012  David Page
2011  Taina Savoit
2010  Richard C. "Rick" Renshaw
2009  Judith "Judi" Sears
2008  Judy Schneider
2007  Earl Hudgins
2006  Herb Brubaker
2005  Gracie Guillory
2004  Karen Krause
2003  Mary Sue Rix
2002  Tom Royal
2001  Judy Lassiter
2000  Michael Novak
1999  Carlia Sproles
1998  Sam Howell
1997-98  Dorothea Stone
1996-97  Judy Schneider
Greeley Myers
1995-96  Leo Hatten
David Horn
1994-95  Sam Booker
John Whiteside
1993-94  Charlie Bruce
Micki Roemer
1990-91  Leo Hatten
Sandy Richard
David Horn
1987-88  Dave Gardner
Elton Davis
1986-87  Kay Vincent

NASFAA Leadership Award

2017 Janell Valdez
2016 Andrew Hammontree
2015 Lisa Hopper
2014 Lisa Blazer
2013 Laura Coponiti
2012 Taina Savoit, LA
2011 Richard "Rick" Renshaw, CO
2010 Sherry Hudson, OK
2009 Linda Gonzalez-Hensgen, TX
2008 Elaine Rivera, TX
2007 Cheryl Lyons, AR
2006 Karen Krause, TX
2005 Earl Hudgins, TX
2004 Carlia Sproles, AR
2003 Mary Sue Rix, LA
2002 Michael Novak, TX
2001 Gracie Guillory, LA
2000 Henry Garcia, TX
1999 Charlie Bruce, OK
1998 Gerald Craig, AR
1997 Judy Schneider, TX
1996 Greely Myers, NM
1995 John Whiteside, NM
1994 James Comeaux, LA
1993 Sam Howell, AR
1992 Claire "Micki" Roemer, TX
1991 Leo Hatton, NM
1990 Leo Munson, TX
1989 Fred Chreist, NM

NASFAA State Award

2006  Texas Service to the Financial Aid Profession
2002  Oklahoma Service to Students, Parents, and Families
(Cash for College)
1989  Texas Honorable Mention
(HACU forms and workshops)
1987  Louisiana Service to Students, Parents, and Families
(FA Guide for Louisiana Students)

Philo Brasher Emerging Leadership Award
      (formerly known as the Philo Brasher Rookie of the Year Award)

Philo Brasher, Assistant Director of Financial Aid at McNeese State University, accepted the job as Association treasurer during an especially difficult time in our association history. Philo continued to serve for many years as the SWASFAA Treasurer and was key to establishing the financial health of the organization. Because of Philo's dedication and extraordinary leadership, the Board voted to recognize him with the naming of the Rookie of the year award which is a special recognition of new and upcoming leaders from each state in the association. In 2007, the Board renamed the award the Philo Brasher Emerging Leadership Award to more accurately reflect the purpose of the recognition.

2017 Quinton Morgan
University of Arkansas at Monticello, AR
Charles Cambre
Southeastern University, LA
Kim Luu
University of New Mexico, NM
Lori Deardorff
St. Gregory's University, OK
Erika Cox
UT San Antonio, TX
2016 April Herring
Phillips Community College, AR
Amy Cable
Jessica Elebario
Mesalands Community College, NM
Nancy Vollertsen
University of Central Oklahoma, OK
Dede Gonzales
Texas State University, TX
2015 Will Smith
University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff, AR
Rebecca Amy
SOWELA Technical Community College, LA
Emily Montoya
New Mexico Highlands University, NM
Lori Frazee
Oklahoma University Health Science Center, OK
Angela Parkoff
Texas A&M University , TX
2014 Leanne Johnson
Harding University, AR
Kristi Waters
Northwestern State University, LA
Jan Tery-Sanchez
Eastern New Mexico University, NM
Marilyn Schwarz
Murray State College, OK
Jennifer Zettler Nanni
Texas Christian University, TX
2013 Heather Ledbetter
Pulaski Tech, AR
Janet Delaine
McNeese State University, LA
Amanda Hammer
Mesalands Community College, NM
Kelly Hicks
Rogers State University, OK
Marcos Mendez
Texas A&M University, TX
2012 Alan Pixley
University of Arkansas Fort Smith, AR
Erica LeJeune
McNeese State University, LA
Angela Anaya
Southwest Acupuncture College, NM
Audra Main
University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center, OK
April Gonzales
Alamo Community College District, TX
2011 Amy Neathery
University of Arkansas, AR
Raymond Clarke
Southern University at Baton Rouge, Baton Rouge, LA
Sara Elliott
Central New Mexico Community College, Albuquerque, NM
Dustin Davidson
Moore Norman Technology Center, Norman, OK
Alan Ahmad
Texas A&M Health Science Center
2010 Melissa Sisco
University of Arkansas Community College-Batesville, AR
Stephanie Battaglia
Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-New Orleans, LA
Regina Madrid
Luna Community College, NM
Lori Boyd
Oklahoma State University, OK
Shannon Crossland
Texas Tech University, TX
2009 Toni Carter
University of Arkansas Community college-Phillips, AR
Allison Dering
Sowela Technical Community College, LA
Darlene Ellinger
New Mexico State University-Alamogordo, NM
Carol Stanfield
Tulsa Community College, OK
Joyce Fox
University of Texas-San Antonio, TX
2008 Ginny Meek
Northwest Arkansas Community College, AR
Jessia Ciufi
Southeastern Louisiana University, LA
Malea Fowler
Central New Mexico Community College, NM
Mendy Schmerer
University of Oklahoma Health Science Center, OK
Fabian Vasquez
Texas Tech University Health Science Center, TX
2007 Dustin Howell
Harding University, AR
Amy Marix
Louisiana State University Baton Rouge, LA
Alicia Smith
Metro Tech Center Springlake, OK
Tina Chargois
University of Houston, TX
2006 Lisa VanOven
Arkansas State University Beebe, AR
Gloria George
Grambling University, LA
Jessie Hall
Eastern New Mexico University, Roswell, NM
Andrew Hammontree
Oklahoma Baptist University, OK
Jim Anderson
Texas Tech University, TX
2005 Reesa Robison
University of Central Arkansas, AR
LaCharlotte Clark
University of New Orleans, LA
Jennifer Enriquez
New Mexico State University, NM
Lori Perry
Rose State College, OK
Tia Clary
Lubbock Christian University, TX
For a complete listing from each state prior to 2005, please contact individual state organizations.
2004 Kristen Cross
Vickie Temple
Laura Coponiti
2003 Lisa Hopper
Anna Daigle
2002 Jay Simpson
Shelly Hinks
2001 Lavada Story
Rebecca McConkey
Lara Trujillo-Barela
2000 Vicky Taylor
Shannon Guillory

Copyright © 2000-2019 SWASFAA
Copying or distributing contents forbidden.